Kudamundi: i don’t ever remember my dad calling us by our first names

Standard

In all of my life I have never, and I mean never seen a kudamundi (ive also seen it spelled coatimundi). I say this like it’s something everyone’s heard about and see.  like its a friggin squirrel or even a miniature dog sized New Orleans river rat–which, by the way I’ve never directly seen that I can remember but I do have at least two tales about. So just now I’m doing a random search out of boredom– my tiny human is taking an extremely long nap– and I see pictures of a kudamundi. (I’m realizing just how much I use — and I’m sorry because its a bit annoying)

My name is Cody. I was named Cody because my mom is from Arizona. That’s not entirely correct. My sister and I were given our names because when my dad thought about Arizona he thought about cowboys, the Old Wild West. So I was named after Buffalo Bill not because it was a tiny, tiny bit popular when I was born, and my sister was named after Casey Jones (usually I have to explain this reference though because when I think about he wasn’t really “wild west” and was more of a legend). My sister’s nickname was Wheeda Pete, pete or Peetason because when my parents would change her diaper she’d pee on them. Mine was kodamondi, mondi or mondison and i’m not entirely certain why. he always said that he saw one on a nature show when i was a baby and decided that with my name it was a good nickname. That and their faces specifically eyes reminded him of me. let me be perfectly clear, having seen a picture of one very recently, i have never and hopefully will never look like a kudamundi, which in my opinion looks a bit like a raccoon.

IMG_1885

(above: Casey Jones and Buffalo BIll)

  • Coati (everythinganimals.net)

2 thoughts on “Kudamundi: i don’t ever remember my dad calling us by our first names

  1. Actually, coatimundi aka codimondie is perfect for you since youve never been fond of being in a large group of females. From your link- Fun Fact: The word “coatimundi” is usually attributed to males who live alone-”mundi” means “solitary”. The word “coati” usually refers to a group of females.

  2. And they’re cute. 🙂 We have them here in a small zoo/park. My kids always insist we visit them when there. And apparently they’re really friendly, according to their keeper. So, not a bad nickname as nicknames go. 🙂 x

Leave a comment